Turnip the Beet Juice

bohemian-nation-turnip-the-beet-juice-cover

Okay, okay, so technically they’re radishes, not turnips, but CLOSE ENOUGH, right?

So I have a question for you. Do you remember where you were when you drank your first smoothie or pressed juice? And do you have any special memories tied to smoothies and juices?

When I was in high school (before I could drive), my friends and I used to go to the mall and walk around. That is literally all I remember doing my freshman and sophomore year… besides sitting at the movie theater, people-watching, and not seeing a movie. Haha! Since none of us had jobs or liked coffee yet, we would go to the mall’s Surf City Squeeze and get smoothies. My absolute favorite, the one I got every single time, was called Strawberry Orange Sunrise. I’m fairly certain there was added sugar or something, because it tasted like candy. It was delicious! And I have happy memories associated, because that was before life got hard: bills, debt, jobs, rent, etc. All we really had to worry about was getting our homework done on time. And if anyone was going to ask us to homecoming. Those were big worries, then, though. (:

Isn’t it funny how a food can make us recall a certain thing, or feel a certain way?

I made this juice in honor of Valentine’s Day. I wanted to make something with lots of pink and red – full of antioxidants, potassium, vitamin C, and flavonoids.

I know what you’re thinking. ALLIE. You want me to juice radishes? That’s sooo weird. But I promise, the earthy taste of the beets will overpower everything. (: Haha! There’s also a bit more fruit in this juice than I typically like to use. Enjoy!

ccbohemian-nation-turnip-the-beet-juice2

You Will Need: 

-2 stalks kale
-2 stalks celery
-1/2 red beet, peeled
-1 inch ginger, peeled
-2 turnips
-1/2 clementine
-3 small slices watermelon
-1/6 bunch parsley
-coconut water (optional)

Juice all the fruits and veggies, and top off with coconut water if you wish.

cdbohemian-nation-turnip-the-beet-juice3bohemian-nation-turnip-the-beet-juice4bohemian-nation-turnip-the-beet-juice5

Mmm look at all that yummy green and red pulp.

In the comments, let me know the memories you have associated with smoothies and juice, if you have any! I can’t wait to hear from you.

-Allie

10 Comments

  1. Anastasia says:

    What an interesting combination for a juice! No way I would remember when I tried my first “smoothie” or juice, it wasn’t a known tradition during my childhood … probably when I was a teenager in a a cafe, or may be we even experimented at home after we’d seen it in a movie … and i believe it was a simple orange juice.

    Like

  2. Chrissie says:

    Very interesting! I wouldn’t have come up with it. I am not sure if I am ready to try it but a lot od my friends swear on juicing.

    Like

  3. mindyvoet says:

    What a great combination of veggies and fruits. Watermelon is a nice addition. I haven’t had my juicer out in a while and I am willing to try this one!

    Like

  4. Kim Galeta says:

    This looks amazing, I never knew you could add watermelon to this recipe. Thanks for sharing you have a lovely blog. I definitely need to get back on my juicing game, spring is the perfect time to detox.

    http://www.kimgaleta.com

    Like

  5. Sofia says:

    This sounds pretty interesting! Kale and watermelon? I am intrigued 🙂

    Like

  6. Ada says:

    That’s sounds really healthy😀 I recently bought myself new blender and I love making smoothies. My favourite so far is banana with almond milk and spoon of almond butter

    Like

  7. This sounds so refreshing! I’m all about juicing beets, but I’ve never thought to add turnips. SO yum!

    Like

  8. jacquevalle says:

    Oh gosh yes I remember when I had my first beet juice. This actually looks really good and I hear it’s great for your skin! Must try

    Like

  9. Shannon says:

    Intresting combination never thought of using beets and watermelon together.

    Like

  10. Leah says:

    We just had a juice bar open up around the corner from our house. I have taken my two little ones for a walk there a couple of times now and got them juice. They both love juice and I don’t mind giving it to them because it’s so healthy for them. But my happy thoughts are with my eldest, who is a very respectable 3, calls is DEUCE!!! And tells anyone and everyone how much he loves that DEUCE. So cute!

    Great pics! I think I might give this one a try at home for my boys. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.